I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books.

I’ve read that book…now what?

As a voracious reader, I always end up with tons of books. What on earth to do with them after? Well, I do NOT cut them up and make crafts out of them. I either donate them to my media center or to a bookstore here that sells used books.

However, old dilapidated books with pages missing are a different story. Those are the ones that I cut up and use for crafts.

Rolled paper roses.

On this video, Misilla uses one piece of paper, which appears to be a thicker type of paper, perhaps the scrapbook variety, for making these. It may look a little daunting, and it does take some practice, but after a few tries, it actually gets really easy. There are some of these at the bottom of this post that a friend of mine and I have made.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Rolled Paper Roses Crafting with old books.

Planning Ahead…

The next few are from Bob Vila, He has quite a few interesting things up his sleeve with books.

Book Table

Yep, I want to do this. I think it would make a cool addition to a home study.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Table Crafting with old books.

Book Lamp

Making lamps is something that I am very interested in, and yet it scares me for some reason. However, seeing this, I think it may be a craft for me this summer.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Lamp Crafting with old books.

Book Clock

Only time will tell if I make this one! Ha! Just kidding…I love this idea.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Clock Crafting with old books.

Book Charging Station

Absolutely making some of these this summer. I hate seeing wires all over the place. Books lying around, however, are a completely different story!

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Smartphone Dock Crafting with old books.

Two Book Coat Rack

Candace’s Rusted Roots has some amazing transformations for well-used items that have seen better days. I have to say that I love this book idea! But check out the site…tons of ideas there! She even has a shop in Hillsborough, NC in case you find yourself up or over that way!

Book Spine Bookmarks

These are from Crafts A La Mode and they are so cool to me and I will be making some of them this summer. I just have to go thrifting to find a few old books. Or maybe I’ll just draw/write the spines of my favorite books some on cardstock. There are so many other things on her blog and it is well worth the visit.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Spine Bookmarks Crafting with old books.

Book Covered Dresser

Can we agree this is adorable? How cute would this be in a nursery? I’m in love! This one is from ModPodge Rocks. I would love to make one of these. I may even make a smaller version for my craft room.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Cover Dresser Crafting with old books.

Past Projects…

The following things were all made for a staff Christmas party at my school. All items were made by V (who suffers through working with me 🙂 ) and a few students and myself. The party was a success, the decorations were beautiful and we had so much fun making them. Quite a few of them now decorate our houses.

Book Page Wreath

The first two are the same wreath, the lighting makes them look different. These are just tubes made from large book pages and hot glued to a round cardboard disk. Simple, but very effective.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Book Wreath Crafting with old books.

After these pictures, we hung it on the wall. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of that.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Wreath

Rolled Paper Roses (Again)

Below are our versions of the rolled paper roses like in the first part of the post. These are made with three book pages per flower. Since the pages are thin, it helps to have multiples for each one. Oh, and a little glitter is always a plus!

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Page Flower

This one got a simple help for its display: A $1.00 Dollar Tree candle votive painted with mercury glass spray paint, and a “flower” made from toilet paper rolls covered in glitter.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Page Flower

If you have a WHOLE LOT of time on your hands, you can do a full tree. I mean tons of time! V, my partner in crime for these party decorations, made this one. The base of the tree is a cone made from a piece of poster paper, you can find a good explanation of how to make them here on The Budget Decorator blog.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post.Crafting with old books. Book Page Flower

I found a candle holder at Goodwill for $1.51 and spray painted it black. It just happened to fit the base of this tree perfectly. The little pearls are from a $1.00 necklace from Dollar Tree. This is still on display in the media center and we both still are amazed at how beautiful it is.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Page Flower Tree Stand

Next is a very old trick that you may have done in the past, but if not, it is really easy! You can see how to do this at the Creative “Try”als blog. The one below is thicker. I used more than 60 pages, but I still did them in 30-page sections and, yes, glitter!

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Page Christmas Tree Close

We used the poster paper cones to make quite a few other trees. The folded book tree was paired with two cone trees covered with wrapping paper that we attached with spray adhesive. The result, if I may say so, is beautiful.

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Page Christmas Tree and others

And lastly, if you have a lot of books, you can just stack ’em up and make a tree. Just make a circle, then move in a little with each layer. Put a lamp in the middle (LED light) and LED “old-fashioned” lights – the real ones get too hot and would be a fire hazard. The LED ones don’t get hot at all!

I've read that book...now what? A Propensity to Discuss Post. Crafting with old books. Book Christmas Tree

The two identical pictures above the (fake – made from boxes covered in paper) mantle are poster paper covered in wrapping paper with a star ornament glued on to it and a dear glitter deer on a piece of black poster paper. The “fire” is a battery operated toy.

So, if you, like me, love to read and you have a lot of books hanging around or if you hit thrift stores, yard sales, and Goodwill and find really old, shabby, books and make something really cool with them so that everyone knows that you are a reader and you have great tastes in decor! 🙂

2 thoughts on “I’ve read that book…now what?

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

