That’s not what I heard…

Have you ever heard a song and loved it to the point that you sang it loudly every time you heard it? Have you ever been singing a song that way and had someone correct you when you sang the lyrics incorrectly? You know exactly what the artist is singing and then learn the real lyrics and think “Hmmm…that makes a heck of a lot more sense.” Yep. Been there…don’t that.

Here are a few that my family and I have goofed on. Some are quite funny. Some you think…who in their right mind would think they were saying that? Hope you like these. And admit it, there are some that you have mistaken, whether or not you will admit it! 🙂

That's not what I heard...A Propensity to Discuss Post.

© Licensed to simonjacobs.com. 17/08/2013 London, UK. Lollibop Festival, Olympic Park, Stratford, London.
Photo credit: Simon Jacobs

When I was little, Kenny Rogers had a huge hit with the song “Lucille“… My version went like this:

“You picked a fine time to leave me, Lucille
With four hundred children and a crop in the field
I’ve had some bad times, lived through some sad times
But this time, you’re hurting won’t heal
You picked a fine time to leave me, Lucille”

What he was really singing:

“You picked a fine time to leave me, Lucille
With four hungry children and a crop in the field
I’ve had some bad times, lived through some sad times
But this time, you’re hurting won’t heal
You picked a fine time to leave me, Lucille”

I wondered who in the world would have 400 children. Hey…stop laughing! I was just a little thing!

Speaking of being young, my two youngest used to think that there were little men in the light signal changing it from green to red to yellow. But perhaps that’s a story for another day…LOL

That's not what I heard...A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Clint Black

Hubby and I were singing with Clint Black to “Nobody’s Home” and below is what I heard hubby singing:

I still comb my hair the same
Still like the same cologne
And I still drive that pick-up truck
That the same old paint’s still on.

When in fact the lyrics were this:

I still comb my hair the same
Still like the same cologne
And I still drive that pick-up truck
That the same old bank still owns.

One of my cousins added this one from Miley Cyrus’Wrecking Ball

I came in like a rainbow
I never hit so hard in love
All I wanted was to break your walls
All you ever did was wreck me
Yeah, you, you wreck me.

While Miley was actually singing

I came in like a wrecking ball
I never hit so hard in love
All I wanted was to break your walls
All you ever did was wreck me
Yeah, you, you wreck me.

To her credit, she did say she could not figure out why in the world she would be signing about a rainbow!

That's not what I heard...A Propensity to Discuss Post.

George Strait

The first few times that I heard (the absolutely gorgeous) George Strait’s song “Troubadour” I heard the lyrics correctly…

Sometimes I feel like Jesse James
Still tryin’ to make a name.
Knowing nothing’s gonna change what I am.
I was a young troubadour
When I wrote in on a song.
I’ll be an old troubadour when I’m gone…

However, for some inconceivable reason, even though I heard “troubadour” I was thinking matador. For the life of me, I could not figure out why in the world George Strait would be singing about a matador! I haven’t lived that one down with my family yet.

Another one on me is “Strawberry Wine” by Deana Carter. I was singing this…

He was working through college
On my grandpa’s farm
I was thirsting for knowledge
And he had a farm
Yeah, I was caught somewhere between a woman and a child.

Until my daughter corrected me to Deana’s actual words:

He was working through college
On my grandpa’s farm
I was thirsting for knowledge
And he had a car
Yeah, I was caught somewhere between a woman and a child.

I never really wondered why would she need another farm. Even though she was already working on one!

That's not what I heard...A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Elton John

I have probably misunderstood more Elton John lyrics than any other musician I have ever listened to. Some of them I just basically make up words to go along or sing sounds that rhyme. But I was certain about “Daniel” when I sang it like this:

Oh oh, Daniel my brother you are older than me
Do you still feel the pain of the scars that won’t heal
Your eyes are blind, but you see more than I
Daniel, you’re a star in the face of the sky

But Elton’s words made a little more sense:

Oh oh, Daniel my brother you are older than me
Do you still feel the pain of the scars that won’t heal
Your eyes have died, but you see more than I
Daniel, you’re a star in the face of the sky

I thought it was a sort of metaphor that Daniel was blind but still saw more…

Not to mention Bennie and the Jets! Oh. My. Goodness. I was totally wrong about this one.  I never knew what the first verse actually said until I looked it up for this post:

Hey kids, shake it loose together
The spotlight’s hitting something
That’s been known to change the weather
We’ll kill the fatted calf tonight
So stick around
You’re gonna hear electric music
Solid walls of sound

And then there is the chorus:

Oh, can you run and get a cigarette?
Uh but they’re so spread out, B-B-B-Bennie and the Jets
Oh but they’re weird and they’re wonderful
Oh, Bennie, she’s really keen
She’s got electric boots a mohair suit
You know I read it in a magazine
B-B-B-Bennie and the Jets

Oh, Candy and Ronnie, have you seen them yet
Uh but they’re so spaced out, B-B-B-Bennie and the Jets
Oh but they’re weird and they’re wonderful
Oh, Bennie, she’s really keen
She’s got electric boots a mohair suit
You know I read it in a magazine
B-B-B-Bennie and the Jets

I have NEVER heard Candy and Ronnie in this song until I read the lyrics and then listened to the song! Wow. Whole new perspective!

So, what lyrics have you misunderstood? Come on, be honest! If there is a song you’ve been singing wrong with your own interpretation of the words, add it to the comments section! I’d love to hear from you!

In case you want more, this is where I found the lyrics:

Clint Black – Nobody’s Home Lyrics | MetroLyrics
Deana Carter lyrics
Elton John – Bennie And The Jets Lyrics | MetroLyrics
Elton John – Daniel Lyrics | MetroLyrics
George Strait Lyrics
Kenny Rogers Lyrics
Miley Cyrus Lyrics

 

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

