Comforting Craft Rooms

Why on earth would I call this post “Comforting Craft Rooms?” Well, because for me, the ultimate comfort is getting in my craft room and spending time making things. Ahhh…Bliss. I just love the feeling that I can start with one thing and end with something else. Even if I end up not liking the finished product, I love the process.

It is also a place for me to listen to books on audio. As you know, I am an avid reader. I also love to listen to books and I think I actually comprehend more from audio than actually reading. I am an audible – tactile learner, which means hearing things and touching things. For example, while listening to someone (audible), note-taking (tactile) increases my understanding and comprehension. That being said, if I am not taking notes, I am drawing and doodling. Still tactile.

So listening and crafting go hand-in-hand for me. What a glorious thing, my two favorite things – reading and crafting – at one time! Truly the most comforting of days for me! Below is a collage of some of my craft storage. The most “eggcentric” has to be the chicken coup (bottom image) which is where I store a large part of my most often used crafts. There are also Mason jars, lots of plastic bins and a pegboard that I painted in a funky fashion. My plan is to use the ideas from this post to design a really well-functioning space for my crafting.

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Whew…that is a lot of information to get to the meat and potatoes of this post, which is about beautiful, comforting, organized craft rooms that sort of make my heart melt. Organization is key. My craft room may look messy to some people, but I have my own system and I know where pretty much everything is. If it gets messy and unorganized, I have to stop all projects and reorganize or it loses its comfort and makes me nervous.

So, I hope you enjoy seeing all the craft rooms that inspire me. One day I hope to have a large space with plenty of work surfaces and beautiful storage that I can show to others!

Raising Up Rubies

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Raising Up Rubies

One of the rooms that I have recently “found” is from the Rasing Up Rubies blog. It is gorgeous, very well-organized and has a lot of open storage, which I love because I don’t want to have to search to find bits and pieces. There are also some quirky pieces, and I am a fan of quirky! One is the birdcage pillowcase storage. (right) Who would have guessed it would be so cute for that purpose?  There are also cute ideas for labels.  Not to mention the vintage canning and cookie jars that hold colorful items and collections. Oh, and the idea to glue a yardstick to her fabric table is ingenious! Never have to look for it again, or find somewhere else to store it. Love!

Between Naps on the Porch

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Between Naps on the Porch

The comfy chair and the dressmaker’s form are two of my very favorite things in this room. Plus there is some really great storage and I love the pale yellow on the walls. What I would love to take from this room to use in mine would be the huge corner desk. I have the perfect place for it in the area I plan to make my new craft room and I think it is a really good piece. Susan’s blog has hundreds of DIY projects including the plans to build a Pottery Barn knock-off cubby organizer that I am certainly going to tackle this summer!

Sawdust Girl

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Sawdust and PaperScraps

Not only is this craft room beautiful, but the storage here is extremely well planned. She planned each drawer and space based on what would be housed there. Wow. Talk about planning ahead! The craft island plans can be found here along with many images. She also offers a mentorship program where you get help designing and building a space of your own, no matter what type of room you need. The mentorship is pretty much like signing up for a class and you get that class for an hour a week for 12 weeks. There are also tons of tutorials here for all types of projects.

Creations by Christie

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Creations by Christie

This craft room is what I call indulgent! It is seriously awe-inspiring and worthy of jealousy! There is a place for everything I can imagine! From the pull-out shallow drawers for bits and pieces to the paint containers hanging upside down under a cabinet held by magnets. Not to mention the custom cabinets and granite countertops!

It’s probably a good thing I don’t have a room like this..I’d never ever want to leave it. Seriously! You must go to this site and check this room out completely.

One of my favorite things here (other than the entire room) is the idea of project bins. She uses dish basins to store projects that are in process but not complete. That way all the materials are in one place, but neatly stored out of the way. YAY! Love this idea! Going to steal it!

Sew Many Ways

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Sew Many Ways

Not only does Karen have a really wonderful craft room, but so much of the room is from DIY projects that she has links to on the site! How awesome…like this vertical storage with coffee cans. Or this framed magnetic piece with plastic cups and lids for bits and pieces. To the slinky note holder and the china cabinet turned craft storage. I am definitely going to have to make a few of these things!

Infarrantly Creative

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Infarrantly Creative

This blog is actually one of my favorite blogs due to pretty much everything on the site, but this huge craft table is beyond enviable. Beckie also has this amazing hidden door paint storage option that causes me a bit of jealousy. I actually have one of the drop down ironing boards like she has and it is a true space saver! Mine is actually on the door in my laundry room.

Now if I can just get hubby motivated this summer to help me out with that table…

Distinctive Touches

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

Distinctive Touches

Colleen’s entire site is about crafting and creating, as is her job with Imagination International for Copic Markers (seems like an amazing job). So it would only be fitting that she would have an amazing craft room. It is in her basement and has several stations with upper and lower cabinets to store everything. She also has links to quite a few video tutorials for using Copic Markers.  Not to mention the pale green wall color. It is just so calming.

In My Own Style

Comforting Craft Rooms. A Propensity to Discuss Post.

In My Own Style

Diane  has a ton of organizing ideas, furniture makeovers, decorating ideas, and crafts. Plus she has a television cabinet turned craft storage unit that is packed to the gills and yet still completely accessible. Her $20 home photo studio idea is a hit with me! There is also a great way to organize craft room tools using pegboard. I have to say my favorite find here is the way she stores her little beads and baubles in a drawer storage bin. I found this one on Amazon Prime for $22.30 and this one with a few larger drawers for $28.00. This will certainly be one of my next purchases!

So now that I have quite a few ideas, plans, and a ton inspiration, I am going to start planning and working on a layout for my new space. I am moving from a small bedroom upstairs to the basement, which is pretty large.  I will have so much more room to spread out, I just need to get the storage pieces in the works.

There will be updates…but probably not until summer when I have much more time on my hands. Do you have a craft room to share? I’d love to see it! Send me some pictures and some ideas! Please! If not, I hope you enjoy this post and maybe we can just dream together. 🙂

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

