Murder, mayhem and mendacity

Truth be told by Hank Phillippi Ryan A Propensity to Discuss review.

Truth be told by Hank Phillippi Ryan A Propensity to Discuss review.

Frustration. Anger. Jealousy. Confusion. All of those could be avoided if Truth Be Told.

In Hank Phillippi Ryan’s newest book in the Jane Roland/Jake Brogan mystery series, telling the truth is not really on anyone’s high-priority list, except Jane.

One man comes forward to confess to a murder. No one really believes him.

One man swears by his innocence. No one really believes him.

One man pledges his love to a woman. He is not very believable.

One woman creates a web of deceit in order to help others. She feels justified in her actions.

Truth be told, if Jake and Jane would actually admit they have a relationship to the outside world, there will probably be some backlash, but in the end, they will avoid so much confusion, jealousy and frustration.

While prepping and researching a story about the housing market and foreclosures in Boston, Jane finds herself in the “right place at the right time” for an even bigger story when a body is found inside a foreclosed house that is being emptied.

With the 20th anniversary of the Lilac Murder approaching, someone has come in to confess his guilt. Jake should be pleased, as this unsolved case was one that haunted Jake’s grandfather until his death. But something just does not add up.

In what I have found to be true Hank Phillippi Ryan fashion, this book is certainly right on par with her others. I really liked the story lines, I love Jane and Jake, although I want them to get their acts together!

For fans of James Patterson, Catherine Coulter’s FBI series, and Sue Grafton, try this series. I think you’ll really like it.

On a less happy note, I started out listening to this on audio, and had to quit. The first books were narrated by Ilyana Kadushin and I love them. However, for some reason, this book is narrated by Xe Sands. And it is, to be honest, quite miserable. Not every man should sound like a sleaze ball. I understand that one of them should have sounded that way, but certainly not Jake! He is anything but sleazy!

Beyond that, there is basically no differentiation in characters. I am glad this was not my first foray into audio books. If it happened to be yours, please do not judge others based on this performance!

Hopefully, Ilyana Kadushin will be available for the next book, scheduled for an October 2015 release! I can hardly wait!

Advertisements

One thought on “Murder, mayhem and mendacity

  1. Pingback: Alphabetical Book Review List and Links | Propensity to Discuss

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s