The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi

The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi A Propensity to Discuss review.

The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi A Propensity to Discuss review.

I love a really good mystery. One that keeps you on your toes and keeps you guessing and then sends you spiraling when the truth finally sends you reeling and shaking your head in astonishment.

The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi had me shaking my head at the end, but not for all the right reasons.

This is a good book. It is not a great book. There are some really good things, and some things that didn’t really sit well with me.

Evie Jones is the character around whom the book is centered. I like her. However, she tends to be like one of those girls in movies who turn around while running from a monster and trip. That always makes me want to yell at them. “Don’t turn around, you idiot!”

Evie’s best friend Lianne Gagnon was abducted and murdered when they were 12. As would be expected, this most certainly shapes Evie’s life. There are flashbacks from the present in the book, which is 1992 to her childhood.

David comes into Evie’s life two years after Lianne’s death. Evie began as his baby-sitter, even though he was 10 and she was only 12. In an area where more than one young girl has been abducted and murdered, parents are a little skittish about leaving kids home alone.

David is one of the few certainties in Evie’s life. He is her best friend, her confidant, and the one person in her life who knows everything about her and will tell her the truth, no matter how much she doesn’t

Evie is convinced that someone is following her, watching her, and playing a cat and mouse game waiting for the right time to kill her. She is also convinced that it is Lianne’s murderer.

David is convinced that Evie is imagining everything and is overwrought with images created by her job as a reporter working on an ongoing story about a serial killer who has just been arrested.

At the conclusion of the book, there are still many issues left unsettled.

Throughout the book you are taken from past to present and several events are told more than once.

There are also no quotation marks used. WHY??? To me, it doesn’t take much time to add them. Less than half a second for each set. I just do not understand why an author would leave them off. Half of the time it is unclear whether Evie is actually talking to another person or if it is just a thought going through her head. I am not a fan of this.

I am an open book kind of person (no pun intended). If I want to say something to someone, I say it. So for me not to know whether she is actually saying things, or just thinking them, drives me a little crazy.

Like I said before, this is a good book. It is not a great book. I am glad that I finished it, but I am not really sure that I would whole-heartedly recommend it. If I had to list books that I might consider reading again, this would not be on the list. Should there be a sequel, I would probably read it, but only because I want to know what happened to Lianne’s murderer.

If there is no sequel, I am OK with that. I won’t spend much time considering the fate of these characters, as there wasn’t one that I really came to care for all that much.

If I were a star rating kind of girl, I would probably give this a 3 out of 5 stars.

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

