I'm a reader. A propensity to discuss post.

I’m a reader

Reading in the wild by Donalyn Miller. I'm a reader. A propensity to discuss post.

As I am sure you have realized by now, I’m a reader.

Duh.

I post book reviews. Obviously, I’m a reader.

However, at the Georgia Library Media Association (GLMA) 2015 Summer Conference I had the absolute honor of hearing Donalyn Miller speak. She brought a lot of great points to the table about creating “wild readers” based on her new book, Reading in the wild.

While I learned so very much from her presentation, and I am continuing to learn from the book, I got a really good look at myself as a reader.

One of the questions she brought to the floor was “How much do you read?” The other was “When do you read?”

I am, according to her book, a “Wild Reader.”

I read all the time.

I read everything.

I'm a reader. A propensity to discuss post.

It started when I was young. And I have to say that I was NEVER EVER discouraged from reading by my parents. Nor was anything off-limits. My parents are to be HIGHLY commended for that. My parents did not censor my reading. They let me read anything that interested me. They never forced me to read, but they never discouraged it, either.

As an educator, I truly believe that reading teaches you more than any teacher ever could. SHOCKING! But let’s be honest, teachers cannot go everywhere with you, but a book can.

Get real. You can’t really learn anything from a Regency Romance! Oh, but you can! If that novel is set in the outback of Australia, there has to be some description of what it is like there. So you will learn a little bit about that climate, landforms, resources… the list can go on and on.

I hear it all the time! “I don’t have time to read!”

“I am busy taking the kids to their practices.” Read during their practice.

“I have so much housework/laundry to do.” Ever listened to an audio book? Housework and laundry are BORING tasks. I plug in headphones and listen to books.

How often do you stand in line for things? At the post office, at the bank, at the grocery store? Ever waited in line at Starbucks? Stash a book in your bag, or download an e-reader app to your phone or tablet. Instant boredom reliever.

I am not the most patient person. Waiting in a doctor’s waiting room and even once I get back to the room and waiting for the doctor to come in, if I don’t have a book to read I get very antsy.

You’d be amazed how much you can read in just very small bits of stolen time. And perhaps keep yourself from blowing a gasket because you are so sick of waiting in line for things!

Oh, yeah, have you noticed how often my reviews are from both print and audio? If I am in my car, 8 out of 10 times there is an audio book playing. Even the hubby likes to listen and we often pass the time of long trips with a book.

Just try it, you may find that you really like it.

Most of my audio books are from Audible. You can get your first month free to try it out. Also, check your local library for audio books if you just want to try one on for size and fit.

Whatever way you find to get your reading game on, just try it. Trust me, you’ll be better for it! 🙂

 

One thought on “I’m a reader

  1. Pingback: 7 Books And 2 Series That Will Keep You Up At Night | Propensity to Discuss

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

