Crazy people out there A Propensity to Discuss Post

Crazy people out there

Recently I have come to realize (not sure why it took me so long) that there are some really crazy people out there!

Really crazy!

Crazy people out there A Propensity to Discuss Post

Crazy people out there A Propensity to Discuss Post

And one of them has found me. This person has attached to me like I am the only person left in the whole world that they can talk to.

In all honesty, I may be, but that is not my fault.

Enter the Facebook dilemma. Yes, I have a Facebook account. Yes, I have friends on Facebook. Yes, I love catching up with, bantering with, and laughing/crying with my friends on Facebook.

But I don’t really like being stalked on Facebook. At all.

I made a few mistakes. I accepted some friend requests because some people were “friends of friends.” BAD. IDEA. Really bad idea.

Word to the wise: If you do not know them, have not had a conversation with them that you can remember, do NOT accept them as a FB friend.

This person attached himself/herself to my family by calling and asking to “come by for a visit.” It lasted three weeks. Then the person tried to come back, sans spouse, and basically make himself/herself at home. Eventually the person was asked to leave¬†because it became more and more apparent that there were serious mental/drug issues going on.

Hello Facebook regrets.

It seems that over the last three years, I had accepted some “friends of friends” requests.

Nine of them. All from the same person. All with slightly off-kilter versions of the real name.

All using the same birthday. And the birthday he/she stole from a former sister-in-law. It is not even his/her birthday.

Two of the accounts were in the name of people that I actually knew and they were copycat accounts. Yes, that does count as identity theft. There is a link at the bottom of this post on how to report that.

After a little research, 32 different Facebook accounts belonging to this person were found by myself and others.

I have “unfriended” all of the ones that I was connected to. This person is still sending me Private Messages, however. But that is OK. Because that is all becoming evidence.

This person even has an account that he/she regularly posts in as his/her spouse. Except that it started out as his/her own account, so if you go scrolling down you quickly realize that he/she just changed the name. Not the sharpest tool in the shed, do you think?

Since I banned this person from the previous accounts, he/she has created seven new ones and sent me friend requests from all of them. Even after telling me how much he/she cannot stand me and my family. And how he/she thinks he/she is the victim.

This is cyber-stalking. And yes, it has been turned over to the police. It is irritating and frustrating and I want it to stop.

Crazy people out there A Propensity to Discuss Post

Crazy people out there A Propensity to Discuss Post

I guess I am writing this post to be able to vent a little, It has been a bit cathartic. However, my honest-to-goodness-real-true reason for writing it is for you to protect yourselves.

Go to Facebook and search your own name in a variety of ways. Make sure that if there is another account in your name that it is legitimate. If not, report it!

Then go through your “friends” list. Make sure that you are actually friends with the people you have accepted. If not, “UN-friend” them. Trust me. You do not want to get caught up with crazy.

For those of you who know this person and have links to him/her on Facebook, please, please Un-friend him/her. Hopefully if everyone in town kicks him/her off their pages, he/she will find a new town full of nice people to stalk and harass. If you choose not to, I wish you the best of luck. But you are playing with fire and you could get burned.

How to report a fake profile page on Facebook

Teen Cyberbullying Arrest: Fake Facebook Page

One thought on “Crazy people out there

  1. Pingback: The Hypnotists Love Story | Propensity to Discuss

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

