BMI...or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent A Propensity to Discuss Post

BMI…or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent

Note: If you are reading this in Google Chrome, there may be info missing, as sometimes (I cannot figure why) numbers do not show in my blog posts on Chrome.

Hypothetical scenario and question:

Sam is 5’11” tall. He weighs 205 pounds.
Don is 5’11” tall and he weighs 215 pounds.

Sam has a BMI (Body Mass Index) of 28.
Don has a BMI of 30.

Sam is, according to his BMI, overweight.
Don is, according to his BMI, obese.

Sam sits at a desk all day. His meals are made up of fatty foods and soft drinks. He goes home and sits around and watches TV.  He does not exercise.
Don is an Olympic athlete who is still actively training and competing.

Don is obese.

BMI...or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent A Propensity to Discuss Post

BMI…or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent A Propensity to Discuss Post

And we wonder why young girls have problems with self-image.

I recently lost a good bit of weight. I talked about it in my post Loving food and Losing weight.  I went from a size 14 to a size 8. And according to my BMI, I am still overweight. As a matter of fact, to get to the point where I would not be overweight, I would have to lose enough weight to put me into a size 4 or maybe even a 2. I don’t want to be a size 4. I absolutely do not want to be a size 2. I like the size I am now. I am happy with it. A size 4?

Not to share a whole lot of TMI type of stuff, but, well, let’s just say I carry some weight at the top of me, if you get my drift. 🙂 I lost some of that, but not a tremendous amount.

BMI...or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent A Propensity to Discuss Post

BMI…or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent A Propensity to Discuss Post

No offense, but I’d rather not look like a real-life Jessica Rabbit.

So here is my observation. Or question. Or concern. Or whatever you want to call it. Why oh why do we use a scale to determine how healthy/unhealthy we are that is so obviously flawed?

I am overweight. I am a size 8, look pretty good in a swimsuit, love my shape, love the way my clothes fit and I am “overweight” by “Healthy BMI Chart” standards.

Go figure. Pun intended.

There are other models out there. And pretty much anyone will tell you that you should not base your self-image on a chart. OK. Got that.

But when I did my health assessment for my insurance, I have to put in my height and weight and then I got a shout out about being overweight because my BMI said so.

Hmmm… makes you think, now, doesn’t it.

How long before health insurance makes me pay more for being “overweight?” With the changes in healthcare lately, I’d say possibly not that long.

But should I, we, be held accountable for such a flawed system? I hope not.

How about you?

Check your BMI on the chart provided, think about it, and let me know your thoughts.

 

4 thoughts on “BMI…or Bulemic, masochistic and indulgent

  1. Gina Arnold

    The Georgia Fitnessgram uses BMI to determine if a CHILD is “fit”. I am not a fan of BMI. It doesn’t take into consideration any other factor of a persons body make up other than height and weight. As a Physical Education teacher, I agree with throwing the scale out and focusing on being active and eating healthy. Be the best God intended YOU to be! That’s what I hope to teach my students!

    Like

    Reply

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

