There is no way I can finish this! A Propensity to Discuss post.

There is no way I can finish this!

ME: “This is the most poorly written, boring book I have read in a long time.”

HUBBY: “Then stop reading it.”

ME: “I can’t. What if it gets better.” It doesn’t. And that is time I will never get back in my life. Time wasted.

So why have I always done that? Finished reading a horribly written/boring book? And I have. Many, many times.

I have walked out of concerts. I have walked out of movies. I have left boring parties and gatherings. I have avoided people who irritate me. I once had a job that I hated, so I quickly found a different job. So why has it always been so hard for me to give up on a book before I am done? I have no idea.

I generally read 2 or 3 (up to 5) books at a time. So if one is particularly boring, I read it in small bits. That way, the boredom should not be so over-powering.

There is no way I can finish this! A Propensity to Discuss post.

There are many other books on the shelves.

A few years ago, though, I decided to just completely give up on a book. It was highly acclaimed. Everyone was talking about it. It was supposed to be so phenomenal. So I had to read it to see what all the hype was about. I still have no idea. I thought it was very poorly written. And boring. And slow. And I kept thinking to myself, if David Baldacci had written this story-line, it would have been fabulous. But, sadly, he didn’t. I loved the idea of the book. But the execution of it was, less than sub-par, in my opinion.

About half way through I decided to just skim the rest. I couldn’t even do that. I put it aside. Then I gave it away. The entire process was very enlightening. Except for the book.

I learned that it was OK to stop reading something if I don’t like it.

I learned that I would not have nightmares about not knowing the ending.

I learned that it is OK for me to dislike what so many others loved.

I learned that I could tell my students the same thing. If you don’t like it, stop reading it. Reading a book that you don’t like makes it harder to pick up something else, for worry that it, too, may be something just as boring. That being said, this only goes for pleasure reading.

If the reading is required, then get through it. Many times, if a teacher assigns the book and discusses the book, students will find redeeming qualities. That has also happened to me. I started reading something I didn’t like and then had several discussions with others about it and came to really like the book. That is about perception, and someone else’s positive account of a book can very likely change a negative reaction.

There is no way I can finish this! A Propensity to Discuss post.

There is no way I can finish this! A Propensity to Discuss post.

I also learned that I could try out different genres of books. I didn’t do this very often before because I was pretty sure I would not like many of them and I would have to suffer through to the end.

Turns out I do actually like Sci-Fi. Who knew?

The first book I ever put down without finishing? The DaVinci Code. Sorry to those of you who love it! If you love those books and that author, I am not saying anything against you. Reading is personal choice. If you have read some of those books and didn’t like the writing, try David Baldacci and Vince Flynn. You will see a whole new side of intrigue! If you do like that style, try David Baldacci and Vince Flynn. You will see a whole new side of intrigue!

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

