Laundry for two (empty nesting) Part 2 A Propensity to Discuss post.

Laundry for two…part two.

So, last week was an interesting week. As I mentioned in my previous post, Laundry for two (or empty-nesting), hubby and I deposited our last little chicken at college last week. There were some tears, but as we left, there was also a gentle peace.

Some things are different around here.

For the past 19 years I have had at least one of my own children in one of the schools in the district where I work. This year, not one. Different.

Laundry for two (empty nesting) Part 2 A Propensity to Discuss post.

P and a child from Slovakia.

For the past four years, P has been at the school where I work. Not this year. Different.

The faculty of the school where I work have known her about as well as they know me. Partly because we look just alike, partly because we sound just alike, and partly because she is as publically an extrovert as I am. Strange that at home, she and I are both introverts and could sit in a room together for hours and not say a word and both be comfortable with that type of conversation. (I know that for extroverts that sounds like an oxymoron.) Now all of our conversations involve words. Different.

When I come home late from work, she is not here to chastise me for overdoing it. You see, I have this annoying condition known as syringomyelia. You can check out more about that on my post, Syringo my what?!?. It really ticks me off! So, as she would say “You know your body can’t take that! Why do you insist on doing that to yourself?” Different.

The house is very still and quiet. Even though we may not always have been talking, there are noises when two people are home together. Hubby coaches football, so he is often rather late getting home. Different.

Laundry for two (empty nesting) Part 2 A Propensity to Discuss post.

P and Hubby Laundry for two (empty nesting) Part 2 A Propensity to Discuss post.

Cooking for two seems somewhat pointless. Of course, I hate to cook, but still it is better when there are more people to eat it. Different.

Our boys don’t ask me what she is doing when they call. They ask if I have talked to her, but I don’t know what she is doing all the time. Different.

The conversations we have are, for the most part, about people I have only met once, or have never met. Different.

As I said, most of the people I work with know her very well and know how close we have always been. So, what I have heard most of all this week is “How does P like college? I know you miss her so much. I am sure you have been so sad this week.” Well, actually, the answers may surprise you. She LOVES college. I do miss her. I am not at all sad.

Laundry for two (empty nesting) Part 2 A Propensity to Discuss post.

P, G, and A and bubbles!

You see, I did not want her to go to college 7.5 hours away from home. Not. At. All. That is way too far from home. However, when we went to visit that college, I was going to try to help her understand how she probably would not like to be that far away. But as soon as we stepped out of the car, I had this gentle peace. I knew Boyce College was where she was supposed to be. And she is happy.

Miss her? Yes. Sad? No. She is happy. Texting, phone calls, face time, and Skype are all a fingertip away. She is happy. I am happy. I am not sad.

Laundry for two (empty nesting) Part 2 A Propensity to Discuss post.

J, K, and a goofy G and bubbles.

One thought on “Laundry for two…part two.

  1. Pingback: 412 miles between my sick child and me | Propensity to Discuss

Want to join the discussion? Please reply!

